| Alternative Rock powertrio

MeatBalloon Records is proud to present a new member of our fast growing family, Trey. Emerged recently from the soaring music scene of Utrecht, this three man outfit has crafted some amazing music in the vein of The Jesus Lizard, Nirvana, Queens of the Stone Age and Hot Snakes, that we are eager to share with the rest of the world. Being veterans, these guys have been playing in different successful bands and projects for a couple of decades, putting out a wide range of albums and touring clubs and festivals all over Europe. As friends and former band mates, forming Trey was a natural next step. And boy or girl, are we happy they did.


Trey released their video SIDES though the online music platform The Daily Indie. Read the interview here and watch the video on the right.


In addition to releasing their EP with us, Trey will be playing as many live shows as they possibly can in preparation of an upcoming full-length album, which they are currently writing songs for.

Download bio (en & nl) here.


| Dark and gloomy pop/rock

WANDER is a band from Utrecht, the Netherlands.

After playing in a band called We vs. Death for nearly a decade these guys sought after a much needed change. What about a new band, with a new sound and a new name.


The songs on their debut ep Swimmer show a love for stripped down pop music. Dark and gloomy songs with a brooding sound. Lots of raw guitars, a spooky synth and always hitting home in a couple of minutes.

Currently they are working on a full length album. WANDER is Thomas Sohilait, Matthijs Thomassen, Marten Timan en Wouter Kors.


| Melodic and melancholic indie folk

With calm fingerpicking guitars and modest vocals Boyle creates wide musical landscapes where the listener can dream away in. It is hopeful and melancholic without losing focus on melody and dynamics. Their music is often compared with The National, Low, Bedhead and Red House Painters.

Boyle is an indie/folk band from Utrecht, The Netherlands and is a project by Marten Timan. Marten performed in a series of bands on bass and guitar, and toured around the the world with postrock-band We vs Death for about a decade. Boyle is named after a small town in Alberta, Canada where Marten lived for a while as an exchange student. The memories and experiences from that period are stored on the personal album ‘Release’ that was released in 2015 on SNWL Records (Knoxville, US).

The album was pressed in a limited edition of a 100 (solid white) vinyls and hand- screenprinted by Tommy Davidson from Leeds. To celebrate its release the band organized a music-and-art festival in september 2015 in a cathedral in Utrecht.

Since then Boyle has grown into a full band and have been playing shows in Netherlands and Germany on many beautiful locations.

In 2018 the single ‘Enter’ was released through LoFriday Records. A new album is in the making.


Boyle is:

Marten Timan (guitar, vocal)
Lotte van Leengoed (bass, organ, vocal)
Jasper van der Steen (guitar)
Dave Mollen (drums)

Former members:
Matthijs Thomassen (guitar, organ, percussion, vocal)
Tim Thomassen (drums, percussion, vocal)




“Release contains intimate and personal songs. Earlier we heard Former Glory , but now My Future , which propels melancholically on splintered guitars and Timan ‘s lively voice . “- Kicking the Habit

” Boyle has made a personal album Release unadorned and without hip hooks , and that is so refreshing. ” – 3voor12 / Utrecht

” Similar to Red House Painters , Low and Herrek the strength of the songs lie within pure simplicity. ” – Kicking the Habit


More info:




SNWF records:
Lofriday records:
Meatballoon records:


Album ‘Release’:



Youtube ( YT channel)


Report 3voor12/Utrecht:
Review 3voor12/Utrecht:



| Alternative Noise Rock

Shuriken is a four-piece band from Utrecht, The Netherlands. Their music can be described as indie noise rock with influences of 31 knots, Shellac, and the Jezus Lizard, to name a few.

In 2009 they released a split cassette tape with ambient/noise artist Timothy C. Holehouse. In the same year they toured England including a show at the Moor Music festival.

Shuriken has since then played many shows around Europe (even making it as far as the isle of Jersey), sharing the stage with bands such as Holy State, These Monsters, Run, WALK!, Mutiny on the Bounty, Adebisi Shank and Earthless.

December 2011 marks the release of their first full length: “Apologies For The Drones”. The 13 track album contains a mixture of intense noise rock, fueled with emotive vocals and atypical song structures. This explosive mixture is presented with a lot of passion and intensity during their live performances.

Their second full length album ‘Move On’ was released in 2015. Their third and last album ‘Into the Fray” was released in december of 2017 when the band announced their breakup.



My Right Thumb

| Dutch oldschool punk / hardcore

Dutch hardcore punk sensation My Right Thumb released their first full length album Thin Air and brought a healthy dose of mayhem and disaster to the dutch underground scene with their energetic liveshows.

The Empty Product

| Bearded one man band with mellow songs

Bearded one man band with mellow songs, perfect to enjoy at a campfire with some cold beers and cigarettes. After a handful of shows across Holland went on to tour Germany, but seemed to have fallen of the earth after three shows in Berlin. Has been missing ever since, with only rumoured sightings by drifters.